PennsylvaniaDriversLicense.org Articles

Frequently Asked Questions about Organ Donation in Pennsylvania

It's a heartfelt and personal decision to become an organ donor. If you are considering becoming an organ donor in the state of Pennsylvania, there might be questions you will have about the process.

Can I only sign up to donate when getting/renewing my driver's license, learner's permit or state ID?

No. You can sign up to be an organ donor at any time and it only takes 30 seconds. Click here to sign up now.

How can I make changes to my Organ Donor information?

You can either make corrections, or remove yourself from the PA organ donor registry if you've changed your mind. You can change your mind at any time and for any reason in the state of Pennsylvania.

If you want to remove your name from the Pennsylvania Donor Registry you can visit the PennDOT website by clicking here. You can edit your information through this page. You can also contact them in person or by phone:

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

Phone: 1-800-932-4600
Riverfront Office Center (Driver and Vehicle Services)
1101 South Front St.
Harrisburg, PA 17104-2516

How old do you have to be to join the registry?

In Pennsylvania, as in many U.S states, you must be at least 18 years old to register. If you are under the age of 18 you will need the signature of your parent or legal guardian. This is required by the State of Pennsylvania law. Your parent or legal guardian must sign a consent for donation until you turn 18.

Note: Once you are 18 years old and you're already registered, your registration will change from indicating intent to be a donor to a consenting adult donor.

If I sign up to be an organ donor at a PennDOT office-- do I also need to sign up online?

No. If you choose to register to be an organ, eye and tissue donor at a Pennsylvania DOT Motor Vehicle Division office upon renewing or obtaining a new driver's license or state ID, you will automatically be added to the registry.