Pennsylvania Drivers Education
Are you interested in getting your first drivers license in Pennsylvania? State law requires that all first-time drivers take a driver education course. This course will emphasize knowledge and safety, so that everyone getting a drivers license in Pennsylvania will be a competent driver. Select one of the options below to get started.
Online application assistance can simplify the process for many DVS related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. Where possible, we will prepare your DVS forms and/or provide links to DVS online services. You will also receive 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service from Road America. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.
2: Enroll in a state-approved Drivers Ed course
Start the process of getting a drivers licenses here and now! Before heading to a DVS location, use this practice test to start training your driving skills. Go in prepared and make the written test and driving exam a piece of cake.
3: Take the state Driver's exam
If you prefer to access DVS services in person or your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at a physical DVS office location. Varying DVS offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DVS closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your local DVS allows you to make a personal appointment. Read more below to see if an in-person visit is either preferred or required.
Pennsylvania Drivers Education
Drivers education in Pennsylvania provide new drivers with the knowledge and tools, to be able to navigate safely through most driving situations. All prospective drivers should get a Pennsylvania drivers ed manual, commonly found through the Department of Transportation. Drivers ed courses teach the rules of the road in order to feel more comfortable and aware of the laws once behind the wheel for the first time.
The drivers education manual will introduce new drivers to many of the numerous rules and regulations that are required. Many schools offer training in the summer months.
Additionally, there are third-party drivers education schools that are also state-certified to provide drivers ed training. There are drivers ed classes available online that will qualify for required hours toward obtaining a graduated license in the state of Pennsylvania.
Thirty hours of classroom time are spent learning about the importance of maintaining focus while driving, making sound decisions and knowing the effects of driving while impaired. Six more hours are spent with on-the-road training; these are applied toward the state's 50-hour requirement. Some of the important topics covered in Pennsylvania drivers ed courses include:
- Vehicle control
- Traffic Regulations & State Laws
- On-the-road training
- Vehicle and Driver's Safety
- Basic Motor Vehicle Knowledge (and where certain controls are located)
Contact the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for more information on drivers education in Pennsylvania.
Find out how to get your Pennsylvania Learners Permit here.
Sponsored Ads- Download comprehensive checklists, tips and resources to guide you with DVS related services.
- Find the State of Pennsylvania DVS location closest to you, or for free forms visit the official government website.
- Additional Resources
Did You Know?