Pennsylvania Learner's Permit Checklist
Once you have completed your drivers education course you will be ready to apply for your Pennsylvania learner’s permit. Read more below.
1: Download and study your practice test
Online application assistance can simplify the process for many DVS related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. In addition to the free forms and general instructions available from the DVS offices or websites, you will receive value added products such as a comprehensive Easy Guide™ containing information relevant to your service needs. Where possible, we will prepare your DVS forms and/or provide links to DVS online services. You will also receive 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service from Road America. In addition, you will be able to take advantage of a free membership to DMV Advisors, a state-specific help desk prepared to answer any driver-related questions or concerns you may have. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.
2: Prove that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course
Start the process of getting a drivers licenses here and now! Before heading to a DVS location, use this practice test to start training your driving skills. Go in prepared and make the written test and driving exam a piece of cake.
3: Via a local DVS office
If you prefer to access DVS services in person or your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at a physical DVS office location. Varying DVS offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DVS closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your local DVS allows you to make a personal appointment. Read more below to see if an in-person visit is either preferred or required.
You are eligible for a Pennsylvania learner's permit if you:
- Are older than 16
- Have never been licensed to operate a vehicle
- Are a new Pennsylvania resident who has never had a drivers license
- Are a new resident who had a drivers license in another state but let it expire more than six months ago
Obtaining a Learner's Permit
The first step of preparing to learn how to drive in Pennsylvania is to obtain a Pennsylvania Driver's Manual. This can be acquired at any nearby driver license center in the state or on the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation website.
Download a complete checklist and forms needed to obtain your Pennsylvania learners permit.
A Pennsylvania learner's permit also requires a physical examination administered by a certified registered nurse practitioner, physician, chiropractor or physician's assistant. A Medical Qualification Certificate (Form DL-180) must be filled out.
A person looking to get their Pennsylvania learners permit must:
- Visit a driver license center with the DL-180 form or a DL-180TD (if the person is under the age of 18 years old).
- Bring proof of identity
- Bring two proofs of residency
- Bring your Social Security card and
- Pay the fee using a check or money order made out to Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
A person applying for a PA driving permit must also pass an ey- screening exam and a drivers knowledge test. Upon passing the knowledge test you will be issued a learners permit. The learners permit license card is then valid for a period of one year and can be renewed if the person needs more time to practice driving. If a driver is under the age of 18 years old, there is a six-month waiting period and 65 hours of behind-the-wheel experience required. This needs to be completed before a person can take a skills test.
With a graduated drivers license or a driving permit, you are not legally allowed to drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
You must then schedule a road test by visiting the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation or by calling toll free (800) 423-5542. When taking the skills test, you will need to bring your valid drivers license.
Find out more about drivers education in Pennsylvania here.
Get your questions
answered at DMV Advisors
- Download comprehensive checklists, tips and resources to guide you with DVS related services.
- Find the State of Pennsylvania DVS location closest to you, or for free forms visit the official government website.
- Additional Resources
Did You Know?
Get your questions
answered at DMV Advisors