Obtaining a New Pennsylvania Drivers License

Applying for a new drivers license in Pennsylvania? We offer links to resources that will save you time and get you going in the right direction. Select from the options below to get started.

1: Get Started with Online Application Services

Online application assistance can simplify the process for many DVS related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. In addition to the free forms and general instructions available from the DVS offices or websites, you will receive value added products such as a comprehensive Easy Guide™ containing information relevant to your service needs. Where possible, we will prepare your DVS forms and/or provide links to DVS online services. You will also receive 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service from Road America. In addition, you will be able to take advantage of a free membership to DMV Advisors, a state-specific help desk prepared to answer any driver-related questions or concerns you may have. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.

2: Take the DVS Practice Test

Getting a new drivers license in Pennsylvania is easy when you are prepared. Arrive at a DMV location ready to pass their tests with flying colors by taking this practice test.

3: Via a local DVS office

If you prefer to access DVS services in person or your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at a physical DVS office location. Varying DVS offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DVS closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your local DVS allows you to make a personal appointment. Read more below to see if an in-person visit is either preferred or required.


 

Pennsylvania Drivers License Requirements

Pennsylvania drivers license applicants must fulfill a few requirements to be eligible to apply:

  • All applicants must be at least 16 years or older. 
  • Any applicants under the age of 18 are required to have a parental consent form filled out which can be downloaded from the DVS website.  If the parent or guardian does not accompany the minor to the license center, the parental consent form must be notorized.
  • Need to fill out a non-commercial learner's permit application from DVS's website
  • Have a physician's signature certifying the applicant is medically allowed to drive
  • Applicants must provide the completed form, one form of identification, social security card, proof of citizenship and a proof of residency. 

A person who is applying for a new drivers license in Pennsylvania will be issued a one-year learner's permit after passing a written test about driving laws and regulations in the state.

You can generate a time-saving and helpful checklist of the required and acceptable documentation.

New Pennsylvania Residents

New Pennsylvania residents can obtain a new Pennsylvania drivers license by visiting the driver license issuance office within 60 days of relocating. It is treated like a license transfer from an old state of residence to reflect the person's new Pennsylvania residency. 

You will only have to prove your identity with your current state's drivers license, which will be surrendered at the time of the application. The applicant will need to provide a social security card and two proofs of residency. 

Fees and Other Information

The fee for a new non-commercial Pennsylvania drivers license is $31, including a $5 fee for a permit and a $26 fee for a four-year license with a photo. Only check or money order payments are accepted. 

A new Pennsylvania drivers license is valid for four years for drivers over the age of 18.  Anyone over the age of 65 will be issued a two-year license.

Are You Moving to a Different State?

If you are relocating to another state, you might also want to consider acquiring a new drivers license. For more information on that process, click here.

Related Links:

 


Get your questions
answered at DMV Advisors





Get your questions
answered at DMV Advisors